Start of Another New Year

Time flies, and it is already close to the end of the first day of the new year. It’s already nearing the end of the semester break and yet I feel like I have accomplished close to nothing this holidays, struggling with both a small desktop application based off the product in the software engineering exam, as well as UVa Online Judge programming problems in preparation for Competitive Programming module in the upcoming semester.

Looking back this year, it has been one full of challenges and some surprising turn of events, taking on modules that most people would not take because of their difficulty. This year, for the first time, I volunteered to join school camp as a senior. However, the most memorable event this year was 奈々さんの first ever solo concert in Singapore. Though I did not contribute much to the experience(refer to a past post on this event), it was definitely a night to remember. Being close(at least decently for me, since my seat was not the front row) to her, her interaction with the audience, and the same atmosphere as her concerts in Japan definitely left a huge impact on me. I definitely look forward to seeing her more, be it on screen or at live concerts.

A new year marks the start of another chapter in life. Like anyone else, I hope for this year to be better than the last. However, this time I seem less optimistic as I worry for my future. Looking back, I have not made myself more employable than I was before embarking on university life(there are so many people out there who are so much more capable than me in technical skills), nor improve my survivability by picking up some household chores to be able to survive by myself. Being a reclusive person, I even doubt my ability to survive in society. Thus, to me, the future looks overwhelmed with many seemingly insurmountable challenges.

Discouraging things aside, I still look forward to a miracle that will change my future prospects for the better. Thanks for bearing with my infrequent, long rants. Even though it is late, I wish all of you a Happy New Year.  明けましておめでとう。

Leave a Reply

