Still a Long Way to Go

Ran into project settings/folder related problems today, causing the server to be unable to load the project and hence start up properly. Ended up troubling more experienced staffs to help troubleshoot all the way till 8pm…

Seeing the stuffs they did during the process, I realised actually my computing skill level are still way too mediocre. Being the rare Linux user in my social circle, coupled with decently good CAP, has bloated my head I guess. While most of the stuffs done were specific to the project, I realised how little I actually know about Git commandline tool(all developers in the company use the commandline tool, not SourceTree nor Git GUI) and Maven project dependency management.

Thinking back, it was similar circumstance that made me interested in computing: being a beginner who wishes to level up to an expert some day.

Now, I am just overwhelmed by the amount of things that I need to level up for, but with too little free time. The list of things to be learnt is as such:

  • Python
  • Ruby
  • MeteorJS(currently stuck on implementing for a web app side project)
  • Linux System/Server Admin
  • Network setup and config
  • Git commandline tool(more advanced stuff)

What would be a good choice to start with first?

Leave a Reply

